A diversion

Posted on

ThespianThis started out as a comment on a fellow bloggers home page, but took a bunny trail that I think I will post on mine instead. To those of you reading this on my WordPress page, substitute WordPress® for blogster®, though I don’t seem to get into many flame wars on WordPress.

I have two nom-de-plumes in addition to my real name, and a few other identities that I use on infrequent occasions to muddy my tracks.

However, I am on blogster under just one. Yeah, Rusty is a pseudonym and nom-de-plume to distract the fine people here and on a few other sites from firebombing my house. Some people confuse the internet for the real world and I can be very crappy when I really put my mind to it.

Rusty Armor has been around for almost 30 years now after CompuServe® assigned me that username in 1986, and I also think of him as a real person. Snookums is always getting snail mail and telephone calls for Rusty, so she thinks of herself as Mrs. Armor as well.

Frankly, I really do not live and breathe blogster. It is a diversion. I can rile someone, and then walk away while they are still fuming at me, and blithely pass their pages by until they cool off. Usually I forget that I was even offensive to them and I am a little shocked when I get a cool reception from them when I stop by later.

But other than accidently clicking on a link from my tablet to blogster, I am always Rusty Armor to all, or Gus writing under Rusty Armor to a few.

One caution to all, however. If you change your name, you become a new person to me and your history with me starts then. I do not connect you with your old ID and your old posts. It is sometimes a little embarrassing, but such are the traits of a narcissist. The whole world is a stage, and the character that stands on it is the one I remember, not the fool actor who portrays him.

10 thoughts on “A diversion

    aladywrites4u said:
    May 6, 2015 at 10:11 am

    Ha ha, I tend to get confuzzled with name changes too. Still, I really am Tina on and off line even when the screen name changes the black fedora will always give me away. I think of ya’ll as Rusty and Snookums. ‘Someday’ when we get together for BBQ picnic with the families it is very likely those are the names you’ll be stuck with.

    aladywrites4u said:
    May 6, 2015 at 10:12 am

    By the way… why can’t turkey bacon be kosher??

      rustyarmor responded:
      May 6, 2015 at 10:46 am

      Some streams of Judaism hold that turkey bacon is allowed as fowl, ergo is lawful can be eaten and can also be served with dairy. But the purists among us hold that even the desire for bacon is a desire to disobey God. Personally, I eat tons of turkey bacon and sausage each year, and do so with a clear conscience.

        aladywrites4u said:
        May 6, 2015 at 10:59 am

        I guess the shul I’m working at is one that doesn’t allow turkey? LOL anyway I’ll keep my bacon at home… just for them.

        rustyarmor responded:
        May 6, 2015 at 11:30 am

        Har! That you used the term “shul” rather than “temple” lets me know that you are likely in an orthodox synagogue … 😛 … yes … they are very very strict in their observance of kashrut …

        Tina said:
        May 8, 2015 at 8:55 pm

        I’m learning as I go but they are good hearted folk and patient with my missteps… like putting out my hand to shake the Rabbi’s hand. Ooops… Heavens… good thing I didn’t hug him or something truly scandalous eh?

    Lia Storm said:
    May 6, 2015 at 11:11 am

    I’m not here, I am just a figment of you imagination 🙂 Have a great day even though you don’t exist 😛

      rustyarmor responded:
      May 6, 2015 at 11:28 am

      I got a lot of figs in my imagination …

        Pamela Stong said:
        May 9, 2015 at 12:12 pm

        Do you have mints too?

    rustyarmor responded:
    May 9, 2015 at 12:29 pm

    Bleah. Fig mints sound a little unappetizing …

Leave a Reply

