No, GOP, I will not go along, nor do I have to. No, Trumpers, I will not go along, nor do I have to.

Posted on

No, GOP, I will not go along, nor do I have to.
No, Trumpers, I will not go along, nor do I have to.

I have had to do quite a bit of soul searching the last couple of days. Trumps win in the GOP has signaled to me that the party has moved significantly away from my own core values. Over the years, I have learned to look to what a man puts his hand to rather than his rhetoric when I am taking his measure. I know what Trump has avowed. I know what Trump has done. The two views don’t jibe and the man doesn’t measure up.

I could go into a whole litany of exposing his duplicity, but it doesn’t matter now. Trumpers aren’t going to be swayed by that, and Trumps detractors already know them.

Politics is a compromise solution. If you are a single issue voter, you will certainly be disappointed at every turn, and for years, I accepted that, and supported the nominee. I even voted unenthusiastically for John McCain, who I think gamed the system in a far dishonest manner than Trump.

But Trump is just a bridge too far for me. I will throw my vote away on the Libertarian candidate this year, though I am not truly a libertarian. I don’t even know who the Libertarian candidate is, and really don’t need to know at this point. It doesn’t matter, since he doesn’t have the remotest chance of winning anyway.

This will be the first time since 1964 that I have not voted Republican at the national level. Barry Goldwater was the first ever Presidential vote I cast, and even though he lost to some very clever left wing propaganda, he became the de facto founder of modern Conservativism. Republicans were so incensed at Democratic Party character assignation of Goldwater that they re-united in a way that carried through to this day. So politically, I am a Goldwater Republican, not a Trump Republican. The two are very different men.

I am not exactly leaving the party, but I cannot bring myself to vote for Trump. More, I will focus my efforts at the State and Local level where there is at least some true Conservatives left.

One thought on “No, GOP, I will not go along, nor do I have to. No, Trumpers, I will not go along, nor do I have to.

    Donna Woodall said:
    May 5, 2016 at 9:49 am

    I fear that’s what the democrats are counting on. They know conservatives are disgusted.

Leave a Reply

